header.jpg





A Message From Ann Ryan, Outgoing President of the Friends

October 22nd, 2014 by friends in Friends of the Library · No Comments ·

I wish to extend my most heartfelt thanks for the great support of the Friends! As my final term on the Friends Board has ended, I am stepping down from this wonderful group to spend more time with my family. I look back with pride on how much we have accomplished in these last few years.

It is reassuring to know that the Friends of the Library are in such strong, capable hands with this current, very energetic, dedicated and talented Friends Board. They will continue their strong commitment to keeping the needs of the Library of today in focus, while looking forward to all the exciting Friends – sponsored programming possibilities that will come with the new building of tomorrow.

My time with the Friends has been the most rewarding experience imaginable and I loved every minute of it! While I cannot begin to list here all the people to whom I owe so much, please know that your encouragement, participation in, and support of, our events was invaluable. I am so grateful for your many kindnesses to me and your ongoing commitment to the Friends! Thank you all so much!

You are our V.I.P’s (Very Important Partners) in making the Friends a success!

Ann Ryan

New Large Print Titles–October

October 20th, 2014 by Amy in Adults, New on the Shelves · No Comments ·

Here’s a list of the new large print books that have arrived at the library (listed in alphabetical order by author’s last name).

FICTION

faceoff

 

Faceoff
An unprecedented collective features pairings by 23 best-selling and critically acclaimed suspense writers, including John Sandford, F. Paul Wilson and R. L. Stine, who in short high-action stories pit their most popular characters against one another.

 
no safe house

No Safe House by Linwood Barclay
A troubled family accidentally reconnects with the criminal who saved their lives seven years prior and is propelled into another potentially lethal situation.

 

[Read more →]

New Teen Books for September

October 16th, 2014 by Melanie in New on the Shelves, Teens · No Comments ·

sfoiSix Feet Over It by Jennifer Longo
Leigh sells graves for her family-owned cemetery because her father is too lazy to look farther than the dinner table when searching for employees. Working the literal graveyard shift, she meets two kinds of customers:
Pre-Need: They know what’s up. They bought their graves a long time ago, before they needed them.
At Need: They are in shock, mourning a loved one’s unexpected death. Leigh avoids sponging their agony by focusing on things like guessing the headstone choice (mostly granite).
Sarcastic and smart, Leigh should be able to stand up to her family and quit. But her world’s been turned upside down by the sudden loss of her best friend and the appearance of Dario, the slightly-too-old-for-her grave digger. Surrounded by death, can Leigh move on, if moving on means it’s time to get a life?

itgInto the Grey by Celine Kiernan
Set in Ireland in the early 1970s, this story stars twin brothers Patrick and Dom Finnerty, who have their world turned upside down when their house and all they possess is burned to the ground. Displaced, the family moves into their summer seaside cottage. Now in the middle of winter, the cottage seems dull, bleak, and quite eerie. Suffering from horrible nightmares, the boys’ bond of brotherly love is put to the test when they discover that the “goblin-boy” is not just a dream. When Patrick tries to rid them of the ghostly creature, it takes possession of Dom instead. Patrick realizes that in order to save his brother’s life he must befriend this ghost and figure out what it wants and why before time runs out. The protagonist’s journey of self-discovery uncovers numerous family secrets, forges unlikely allies, and proves that the power of friendship, loyalty, and love are far stronger than he ever imagined.

[Read more →]

More Teen Books for September

October 16th, 2014 by Melanie in New on the Shelves, Teens · No Comments ·

blackbirdBlackbird by Anna CareyFrom the author of the Eve trilogy comes the breathless story of a girl racing to figure out who she is–and how to stay alive. When a nameless girl wakes up on the subway tracks, she knows only one thing for sure: people want her dead. Can she find them before they track her down? This pulse-pounding contemporary thriller is perfect for fans of The Maze Runner, The Darkest Minds, and Legend.
“Things I know are true:
I am in Los Angeles
I woke up on the train tracks at the Vermont/Sunset station
I am a teenage girl I have long black hair
I have a bird tattoo on the inside of my right wrist
People are trying to kill me”

yoloYolo by Lauren MyracleThrough texts and messages, the mega-bestselling, beloved Internet Girls series followed the ups and downs of school for three very different, very close friends. Now it’s freshman year of college for the winsome threesome, and *everything* is different. For one, the best friends are facing their first semester apart. Way, way apart. Maddie’s in California, Zoe’s in Ohio, and Angela’s back in Georgia. And it’s not just the girls who are separated. Zoe’s worried that Doug wants to break up now that they’re at different schools, and Maddie’s boyfriend, Ian, is on the other side of the country.
In the face of change and diverging paths, Maddie’s got a plan to keep the friends close, and it involves embracing the present, making memories, and…roller derby! Using of-the-moment technology, Lauren Myracle brings her groundbreaking series into the brave new virtual world of texting and tweets.

[Read more →]

New Young Adult Books for October

October 16th, 2014 by Melanie in New on the Shelves, Teens · No Comments ·

atbaAll Those Broken Angels by Peter Adam SalomonComforted by a shadow. Haunted by the truth.
Richard Anderson was the last person to see his friend Melanie alive. She vanished when they were six, and while the police never found Melanie, a part of her remained–a living shadow that is now Richard’s closest friend.
For ten years, Richard has never questioned the shadow that keeps him company…until a new girl moves to town, claiming to be Melanie. Desperate to prove the girl is a fake, the shadow leads Richard to the place where her killer buried her bones. But Richard finds skeletons from several different children…and evidence suggesting that perhaps the shadow isn’t who she says she is.

flwFamous Last Words by Katie AlenderWilla is freaking out. It seems like she’s seeing things. Like a dead body in her swimming pool. Frantic messages on her walls. A reflection that is not her own. It’s almost as if someone–or something–is trying to send her a message.
Meanwhile, a killer is stalking Los Angeles–a killer who reenacts famous movie murder scenes. Could Willa’s strange visions have to do with these unsolved murders? Or is she going crazy? And who can she confide in? There’s Marnie, her new friend who may not be totally trustworthy. And there’s Reed, who’s ridiculously handsome and seems to get Willa. There’s also Wyatt, who’s super smart but unhealthily obsessed with the Hollywood Killer.
All Willa knows is, she has to confront the possible-ghost in her house, or she just might lose her mind…or her life.

[Read more →]

Columbus Day Week Book Sale at McGraw!

October 15th, 2014 by IPL Webmaster in Adults, Kids, Teens · No Comments ·

The McGraw Branch of the Irondequoit Public Library (2180 East Ridge Road) is hosting a Columbus Day Week Book Sale. We’ll have a huge selection of thousands of books including Fiction, Non-Fiction, Mysteries, Sci-Fi/Fantasy, Romance, Large Print, History, True Crime, Kids, Teens, and more.

Wednesday, October 15 (10:00 AM – 8:30 PM)
Thursday, October 16 (10:00 AM – 8:30 PM)
Friday, October 17 (10:00 AM – 5:30 PM)
—–
Bargain Day! Saturday, October 18 (10:00 AM – 4:30 PM)
All Books: 25¢ Each or 5 for $1.00

All proceeds will benefit the New Irondequoit Library. Call the McGraw Branch at 336-6060 for more information.