header.jpg



What to Read Next

Do you have a favorite type of book? Check out our suggestions by genre page to find a list of authors you might want to consider checking out.

The links below may also help you choose new and interesting titles.

Best Sellers

New York Times Best Seller List

Publishers Weekly Best Sellers
(scroll down for paperback and non-fiction)

National Indie Bestsellers from the American Bestsellers Association

Barnes and Noble Best Sellers

Amazon Best Sellers

NPR Bestsellers

Book Awards and Best of’s

National Book Award

Award Winners
(a list of awards from Powell’s Books)

Notable Books for Adults

Modern Library’s Best 100 Novels, EVER!

Library Sites for Readers

Recommendations from the Monroe County Library Staff- A list of staff picks and new books from the Monroe County Library System.

The Library Director Recommends: Reading recommendations from Patty Uttaro, director of the Monroe County Library System.


Seattle Public Library Reader’s Corner - Reading lists based on genre, general fiction, and nonfiction from Seattle Public Library.

Books.gov – Resources for adult readers provided by the Library of Congress’ Center for the Book.

Reader’s Club – The Public Library of Charlotte & Mecklenburg County provides reviews of fiction and non-fiction books from library staff, a reading log, an author section, and a chance to provide your own review.

Jefferson County Public Library – A large collection of web resources for readers, this site includes links to booklists, publishers, authors, book discussion group resources, and more!

What’s Next? Books in Series -The Kent District Library in Michigan has created a database to help you keep track of the order of books in a series. You can search by author, title, or series.

Multnomah County Library Booklists – The library has created a selection of “if you like,” topical, and nonfiction booklists for adult readers.

Other Web Resources

If All of Rochester Read the Same Book – Find out what title Writers & Books has chosen for the Rochester read. Also find events, reviews, and discussion guides.

Oprah – No time to watch Oprah? You can still find out what books Oprah talks about and promotes by linking here to her website.

Library Journal’s Best Books of 2010 – A list of titles chosen by Library Journal as the best of the best selected each year.

Book Reporter – This is the website where readers and writers click. Enjoy reading suggested titles from the “on the edge of your seat” and “ones to watch” categories.

New York Times Book Review – Read what The New York Times considers to be the most popular books. Benefit from links to the NYT Bestsellers and the Sunday Book Review.

Mostly Fiction – Expand your reading repertoire by exploring this site and linking to book titles about the Wild West, Latin America, thrillers, humorous fiction, beyond reality, and non-fiction.

Overbooked – Overbooked.com is described as a web site for ravenous & omnivorous readers. Overbooked provides information about fiction and readable non-fiction. Link to African American, Christian, and historical fiction book selections.

Red Room – Have fun finding your favorite authors and new writers by discovering redroom.com. Author blogs are included on this website.