header.jpg





Welcome to the IPL Teen Blog!

Batman’s Birthday Bash @ the Library!

November 11th, 2014 by aholland in Adults, Kids, Teens · No Comments ·

Click on the image below to view event details!

DOC111114-0001

Library Closed on Tuesday, November 11

November 7th, 2014 by John in Adults, Kids, Teens · No Comments ·

Both branches of the Irondequoit Public Library will be closed on Tuesday, November 11 due to staff training. Regular hours will resume on Wednesday, November 12.

New Teen Books for September

October 16th, 2014 by Melanie in New on the Shelves, Teens · Comments Off ·

sfoiSix Feet Over It by Jennifer Longo
Leigh sells graves for her family-owned cemetery because her father is too lazy to look farther than the dinner table when searching for employees. Working the literal graveyard shift, she meets two kinds of customers:
Pre-Need: They know what’s up. They bought their graves a long time ago, before they needed them.
At Need: They are in shock, mourning a loved one’s unexpected death. Leigh avoids sponging their agony by focusing on things like guessing the headstone choice (mostly granite).
Sarcastic and smart, Leigh should be able to stand up to her family and quit. But her world’s been turned upside down by the sudden loss of her best friend and the appearance of Dario, the slightly-too-old-for-her grave digger. Surrounded by death, can Leigh move on, if moving on means it’s time to get a life?

itgInto the Grey by Celine Kiernan
Set in Ireland in the early 1970s, this story stars twin brothers Patrick and Dom Finnerty, who have their world turned upside down when their house and all they possess is burned to the ground. Displaced, the family moves into their summer seaside cottage. Now in the middle of winter, the cottage seems dull, bleak, and quite eerie. Suffering from horrible nightmares, the boys’ bond of brotherly love is put to the test when they discover that the “goblin-boy” is not just a dream. When Patrick tries to rid them of the ghostly creature, it takes possession of Dom instead. Patrick realizes that in order to save his brother’s life he must befriend this ghost and figure out what it wants and why before time runs out. The protagonist’s journey of self-discovery uncovers numerous family secrets, forges unlikely allies, and proves that the power of friendship, loyalty, and love are far stronger than he ever imagined.

(more…)

More Teen Books for September

October 16th, 2014 by Melanie in New on the Shelves, Teens · Comments Off ·

blackbirdBlackbird by Anna CareyFrom the author of the Eve trilogy comes the breathless story of a girl racing to figure out who she is–and how to stay alive. When a nameless girl wakes up on the subway tracks, she knows only one thing for sure: people want her dead. Can she find them before they track her down? This pulse-pounding contemporary thriller is perfect for fans of The Maze Runner, The Darkest Minds, and Legend.
“Things I know are true:
I am in Los Angeles
I woke up on the train tracks at the Vermont/Sunset station
I am a teenage girl I have long black hair
I have a bird tattoo on the inside of my right wrist
People are trying to kill me”

yoloYolo by Lauren MyracleThrough texts and messages, the mega-bestselling, beloved Internet Girls series followed the ups and downs of school for three very different, very close friends. Now it’s freshman year of college for the winsome threesome, and *everything* is different. For one, the best friends are facing their first semester apart. Way, way apart. Maddie’s in California, Zoe’s in Ohio, and Angela’s back in Georgia. And it’s not just the girls who are separated. Zoe’s worried that Doug wants to break up now that they’re at different schools, and Maddie’s boyfriend, Ian, is on the other side of the country.
In the face of change and diverging paths, Maddie’s got a plan to keep the friends close, and it involves embracing the present, making memories, and…roller derby! Using of-the-moment technology, Lauren Myracle brings her groundbreaking series into the brave new virtual world of texting and tweets.

(more…)

New Young Adult Books for October

October 16th, 2014 by Melanie in New on the Shelves, Teens · Comments Off ·

atbaAll Those Broken Angels by Peter Adam SalomonComforted by a shadow. Haunted by the truth.
Richard Anderson was the last person to see his friend Melanie alive. She vanished when they were six, and while the police never found Melanie, a part of her remained–a living shadow that is now Richard’s closest friend.
For ten years, Richard has never questioned the shadow that keeps him company…until a new girl moves to town, claiming to be Melanie. Desperate to prove the girl is a fake, the shadow leads Richard to the place where her killer buried her bones. But Richard finds skeletons from several different children…and evidence suggesting that perhaps the shadow isn’t who she says she is.

flwFamous Last Words by Katie AlenderWilla is freaking out. It seems like she’s seeing things. Like a dead body in her swimming pool. Frantic messages on her walls. A reflection that is not her own. It’s almost as if someone–or something–is trying to send her a message.
Meanwhile, a killer is stalking Los Angeles–a killer who reenacts famous movie murder scenes. Could Willa’s strange visions have to do with these unsolved murders? Or is she going crazy? And who can she confide in? There’s Marnie, her new friend who may not be totally trustworthy. And there’s Reed, who’s ridiculously handsome and seems to get Willa. There’s also Wyatt, who’s super smart but unhealthily obsessed with the Hollywood Killer.
All Willa knows is, she has to confront the possible-ghost in her house, or she just might lose her mind…or her life.

(more…)

Columbus Day Week Book Sale at McGraw!

October 15th, 2014 by IPL Webmaster in Adults, Kids, Teens · Comments Off ·

The McGraw Branch of the Irondequoit Public Library (2180 East Ridge Road) is hosting a Columbus Day Week Book Sale. We’ll have a huge selection of thousands of books including Fiction, Non-Fiction, Mysteries, Sci-Fi/Fantasy, Romance, Large Print, History, True Crime, Kids, Teens, and more.

Wednesday, October 15 (10:00 AM – 8:30 PM)
Thursday, October 16 (10:00 AM – 8:30 PM)
Friday, October 17 (10:00 AM – 5:30 PM)
—–
Bargain Day! Saturday, October 18 (10:00 AM – 4:30 PM)
All Books: 25¢ Each or 5 for $1.00

All proceeds will benefit the New Irondequoit Library. Call the McGraw Branch at 336-6060 for more information.